This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History 4985: Historical Research and Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 4985: Historical Research and Methods   Tags: historical research, historiography, history, primary sources  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/History4985 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Stewart Library owns or has access to a large number of resources to help in your research. 

If you're not sure of a topic or need some background information, reference sources can be very helpful.  Some reference sources may include collections of primary documents or at least references to them.  They are often the best place to find statistics.  Some good ones to start with are:

 

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias from Credo (formerly xreferplus), including: Dictionary of Contemporary History, Concise Atlas of World History, The Great American History Factfinder, Who's Who in the Roman World and many more.

Requires WSU ID
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online, including:   The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology, The Kings & Queens of Britain, The Oxford Dictionary of Local & Family History, Who's Who in the Twentieth Century and many more. Requires WSU ID
The Gale Digital Reference Shelf.  Includes:  Encyclopedia of American Religions Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World Encyclopedia of Modern Asia Encyclopedia of World Biography  Requires WSU ID
The Oxford Digital Reference Collection.  Includes: Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation ,Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States and others. Requires WSU ID
The Sage eReference Collection.  Includes titles such as: Encyclopedia of American Urban History, Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West and the Encyclopedia of Women in the American West.  Requires WSU ID
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition Requires WSU ID
AccessScience   For articles on the history of science Requires WSU ID
West's Encyclopedia of American Law Good historical coverage Requires WSU ID
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (& online) REF   BR 302.8 .O93   (requires current W#)
Dictionary of the History of Ideas (& online) (newer edition on order) REF   CB 5 .D52 1973
Encyclopedia of Archaeology  (& online - this is another title available on Credo) REF   CC 100 .E54 2001   (requires current W#)
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing (Clueless about the Annales School?  Not sure who Toynbee was?  Check here.) REF   D 14 .E53 1999
AHA Guide to Historical Literature  (& online) REF   D 20 .A4 1995   (requires current W#)
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (see the related online Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages) REF   D 114 O94 2010   (requires current W#)
Oxford Companion to World War II  (& online) REF   D 740 .094   (requires current W#)
Victorian Britain REF   DA 550 .V53 1988
Oxford Classical Dictionary  (newest edition on order & available online) REF   DE 5 .O9 2003   (requires current W#)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World  (newest edition on order) REF   DS 35.53 .O9 1995
Encyclopedia Judaica  (& online) REF   DS 102.8 .E496 2007 (requires current W#)
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture REF   DS 33 .C63 2000
Encyclopedia of African History & Culture REF   DT 3 P27  2001
Native Americans REF   E 77 .P89 1998
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (& Online) REF   E 184 .S75 O97 2005 (requires current W#)
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration  REF   E 185.6 E54 2006
Utah:  a Centennial History REF   F 626 .S8
Historical Statistics of the United States:   from the earliest time (& online) REF   HA 202 .H57 2006   (requires current W#)
International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-2000 REF   HA 1107.M5 2003
Encyclopedia of Scientific Biography  Older, but still an excellent source REF   Q141 .D5
Cambridge World History of Human Disease REF   R131.C233 1993
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History 1838-1974. - an excellent source for finding older research REF   Z 6205 .C18
American Decades, American Eras, World Eras , and the 20th Century Day by Day - These are chronologies and timelines with pictures.  REF  - check E169 for the first two,  D20 W67 for the next and  D422 .C53 for the last.
American Historical Images on File  (copyright cleared) REF - call numbers vary, check catalog.

 

You can find many other reference books on historical topics  by browsing the following call number areas:  

 C     The auxiliary sciences of history  (archaeology, chronology, biography, etc.)

 D    General history and history outside the Americas (Wars, Europe, Asia, Romans, Gypsies, Chinese, etc.)
        

 E     United States History (includes Native Americans, African Americans, etc.)

 F    U.S. Local history (states, cities, regions) and the Americas outside of the U.S. (Canada, Mexico, Latin America, the Caribbean)

You can also find historical works in many other areas.  For example, economic history is in the H's,  the history of medicine is in the R's, diplomatic history is often in the J area (political science).

Books, journal articles and websites can also provide good background information.  See sections below for information on how to find them.

My Profile

Profile Image
Kathy Payne
Contact Info
Li 145
Phone: 801-626-6511
Office hours by appointment
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip