This is the "Summer 2014" page of the "Botany Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany Newsletter   Tags: botany, newsletter  

Library newsletter for the botany department.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/botanynews Print Guide RSS Updates

Summer 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

Library Instruction Sessions

Just a reminder that I will be here summer semester.  If you need library instruction for any of your classes, please contact me to schedule a session.

For this newsletter, I thought I would highlight some of the library's databases.  You can access the following by going to the library's website (library.weber.edu), clicking on Article Databases, selecting the first letter of the database of interest, and clicking on the database title.

Birds of North America-Contains information on birds in the United States and Canada.

FAITS: Faulkner Advisory on Info Tech StudiesFull-text online technology-related report database which covers a wide variety of topics including security, IT infrastructure, telecommunications, and the World Wide Web. 

JSTOR Plant Science-Plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.

USGS National Geologic Map Database-U.S. Geological Survey database which includes a lexicon of geologic names of the U.S., a geologic map image database, and related resources.

 

Selected New Books

Title

Author

Call Number

Water 4.0: The Past, Present, and Future of the World's Most Vital Resource

Sedlak, David

GB659.6 .S44 2014

The Language of Science Education: An Expanded Glossary of Key Terms and Concepts in Science Teaching and Learning

McComas, William F. (ed)

Q181 .L36 2014

Learning from Leonardo: Decoding the Notebooks of a Genius

Capra, Fritjof

Q143.L5 C368 2013

The Venomous Snakes and their Mimics of Panama and Costa Rica

Ray, Julie M.

QL654.5 .R39 2013

Science Sifting: Tools for Innovation in Science and Technology

Dietert, Rodney R.

Q147 .D54 2013

Flatland The Movie

DVD

QA699 .A13 2007

 

Web Sites of Interest

Interpersonal Botany
http://digital.library.mcgill.ca/interpersonal/index.php

This fascinating collection is animated by one question: "How did people use print to structure and mediate their social relationships in Europe between 1700 and 1900?" Crafted by staff members at McGill University, the exhibition looks at objects that document a range of interpersonal practices in the field of botany. As the site suggests, "printed matter functioned in various ways to foster relationships between individuals" during this period. Visitors can get started in The Exhibition area which includes an overview of each thematic section. Moving on, the Browse Pictures area includes five thematic headings, including Networks of Correspondence and Sentimental Botany. Each of these features a collection of images from the original in situ exhibition and the items all have a certain charm that belies an era of long distance communication. Visitors shouldn't miss the Floral Birthday Calendar or the glorious cover of Flora Symbolica. [KMG]

Biodidac
http://biodidac.bio.uottawa.ca/index.htm

Biodidac is a bank of digital resources for teaching biology, courtesy of the great folks at the University of Ottawa. First-time visitors will note that the materials are contained within three thematic areas, includingHistology and Organismal Biology. Visitors can click on each area to view high quality resolutions of various cells and bodies that can be used to create study guides for public health, medicine, and other related health fields. The What's New? area is a great way to learn about the latest additions to the site. Additionally, an Information section brings together details on the site's focus, various reports, and funding information. Finally, visitors can click on the Images area to learn more about specific images and animations of the fungi, animalia, and the structure of a
mitochondrion. [KMG]

Howard Hughes Medical Institute: BioInteractive Virtual Labs
http://www.hhmi.org/biointeractive/browse?field_bio_format_type%5B0%5D=23451

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) has created this remarkable set of virtual laboratory activities for scholars of all ages. Designed as part of its BioInteractive series, the labs cover bacterial identification, cardiology, immunology, and even stickleback fish evolution. Each one of the labs has a tutorial, along with a set of activities designed to help scientists learn more about the biological processes involved with each one. Visitors can browse the offerings here by topic or search all of the labs for specific details. [KMG]

Nature Soundmap
http://www.naturesoundmap.com/

What does a humpback whale sound like? Or perhaps the White-cheeked Gibbon? The Nature Soundmap provides snippets of these sounds and much, 
much more. Visitors will find an interactive map of the world, complete with markers that allow audio wildlife travel from Central America to Central Asia a snap. Symphonies of animal noises can also be found here, as visitors can click on Greece to listen to "Summer Ambience" or France to find "Dawn in the Lezardrieux Forest.” Each marker includes information about the animal or setting profiled, along with a link to More Info for the generally curious. [KMG]

From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2014.  https://www.scout.wisc.edu/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip