Country Guides Information
These guides have been prepared to bring together in one place sources of business and economic information about various countries of the world. Sources include governmental, organizational and commercial Web sites, and books available in the WSU Stewart Library. Additional help with country research is available at the Reference Desk.
- Background Notes
- Background Notes (prior to Jan 20, 2001)
Provides information on geographic entities and international organizations. Information includes basic country profile, people and history, government and political conditions, economy, defense, foreign relations, and travel and business information. From the U.S. Dept. of State.
- Country Commercial Guides
Presents information about countries' commercial environments. Information is provided on a country's economic trends and outlook, political environment, marketing U.S. products and services, leading sectors for U.S. exports and investments, trade regulations and standards, investment climate, and trade and project financing. From the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs.
- Exporters' Encyclopaedia Reference Section HF 3011.E9
A comprehensive guide to exporting, containing information on markets, regulation, documents, communications, and many other aspects of exporting. Provides key contact information, an overview of trade regulations, documentation requirements, foreign investment info, consumer protection, product standards, regulations & requirements, marketing info, labeling & packaging, intellectual property rights, and transportation information.
- Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles
Detailed facts and statistics on a country's geography, population, economy, communications, and armed forces. Government and politics are described briefly, with some historical background. Select Reference from the main menu, then Country Profiles and enter your
- World Factbook
Gives a good general background of a country, including information on communications, defense, the economy, flags, maps, geography, the people, government, and transportation.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
The country studies page describes and analyzes political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions of foreign countries. These focus on historical setting, society and its environment, education and culture, economic policy and structure, government and politics and national security. Scroll down to the bottom of the main page to browse the table of contents by country.
- Culturgrams In the Reference Section
BYU's Culturgrams provide information on country cultures and customs for the international traveler. For each country there is a description of general attitudes, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, visiting customs, eating habits, lifestyle (family, dating and marriage, diet, recreation, holidays), as well as brief information on history, transportation, communication and health.
- The Electronic Embassy
Provides links to the Foreign Embassies of Washington D.C. From there, select a country and find information on doing business in that country plus data on government, trade, unemployment, imports, exports, economic indicators, travel and more.
- Doing business in International markets
- Travel Warnings & Consular Information Sheets
- U.S. Foreign Agricultural Service
Market Reports are also in the National Trade Data Bank at Stat-USA.
American attaches prepare reports on the market and distribution of agricultural and food products in foreign countries, the most comprehensive are General Market Overviews or Annual Marketing Plan Information Reports. These overviews look at a country's potential for importing U.S. food products with a review of the macroeconomic situation and influence on customer-ready food products, trade restrictions and barriers, the consumer, U.S. market position, French competition, local market trends and opportunities, marketing strategies, distribution systems (wholesale, retail & hospitality), the domestic food processing sector and food safety. Other market reports cover the market for some specific products and import regulations for select countries.
- National Trade Data Bank This link does not work website seems to have dissapeared
Developed by the U.S. International Trade Administration to help promote U.S. exports. The NTDB includes Country Commercial Guides, market research reports, and U.S. trade statistics. You can search the entire NTDB or just parts. Country Commercial Guides are usually displayed in about 12 sections; retrieve the table of contents to ensure you have the entire report. The Market Research Reports may include general economic information as well as product and industry reports. See librarian for password.
- Political Handbook of the World Reference JF 37 .P622
Describes government and politics of each country: political background, constitution and government, foreign relations, political parties, legislature, cabinet and intergovernmental representation.
- African Development Bank
- Asia Development Bank
Reports cover Country Assistance Plans, Country Operational Strategy Studies, Economic Trends and Prospects, and more.
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Financing the economic transition in central and eastern Europe and the CIS.
- Inter-American Development Bank
Provides information on the Bank's policies and projects. The Research and Statistics link points to economic, trade and social databases as well as reports on individual countries.
- The World Bank Group
Go to Countries -click your map area or use the window box. Select your country for fulltext Country Briefs and browse the region table of contents. At the home page you can also enter your country in the search box for other publications.
- World Development Reports
- World Development Indicators
- International Monetary Fund
Includes major world reports, press releases, and a searchable catalog of IMF publications. Use the Site Search and Search Title Only for your country, or go the Member Country Publications page to view reports on specific countries.
- OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- Financial Times
The Financial Times periodically provides Country Briefs, Industry Briefs, Company Briefs, and surveys on Finance and Investment analyzing economic and market conditions. Also available via Lexis-Nexis. Choose General News Topics - Major Newspapers. Type country name, and in the Additional Terms area type publication(financial times) and section(survey) and headline(country name)
- Far Eastern Economic Review HC1.F219
The News section of Lexis contains World News, which includes both U.S. and international sources in English, and Non-English Language News, which provides access to news in Spanish, French, Dutch, Italian & German.
- INFONATION This website has dissapeared
Allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations. You can select and compare up to seven countries.
- World Bank World Development Indicators Reference HC59.8 .W68
- UNESCO Statistical Yearbook Reference Table 5B AZ361.S7
Detailed comparison tables on education, technology, culture and the media.
- International Trade Statistics Yearbook Reference Table 5B HF91.Y42
- Energy Statistics Yearbook Reference HD9502.A1W622
- Government Finance Statistics Yearbook Reference Table 5B HJ101.G68
- Bulletin of Labour Statistics Reference Table 5B HD4826.B7
- Year-book of Labour Statistics Reference Table 5B HD4826.B74
Employment by industry and occupation, wages, cost of labour, cpi, etc.
Stewart Library Room: 144
Phone: (801) 626-8662
Reference Desk: (801) 626-6415