This is the "Spring 2014" page of the "Chemistry Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry Newsletter   Tags: chemistry, newsletter  

Library newsletter for the Chemistry department.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/chemnews Print Guide RSS Updates

Spring 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

Happy 2014!!! 

Reserve Books

If you have an extra copy of the textbook(s) that you are using this semester, I would encourage you to put it/them "on reserve" for students.  The form to do so can be found at http://library.weber.edu/sas/departments/media_reserve/tradmedia.cfm

Library Instruction Sessions

Please call me (x6093) if you would like to schedule a library instruction session for your students.  These sessions can be tailored for the paper or project that your students are working on.   

Book/DVD Orders

Ordering stops in March.  If there is an item that you would like to see made available in the library's collection, please send me the title and ISBN number.

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Title

Author

Call Number

Great Salt Lake

DVD

F832.G7 G74 2010 (media)

Groundwater for the 21st Century

Conners, John A.

GB1003.2 .C66 2013

The App Generation: How Today’s Youth Navigate Identity, Intimacy, and Imagination in a Digital World

Garnder, Howard, et al

HQ799.9.I58 G37 2013

Next Generation Science Standards

NGSS Lead States

LB1585 .N49 2013

A Framework for K-12 Science Education: Practices, Crosscutting Concepts, and Core Ideas

Quinn, Helen et al

LB1585.3 .N38 2012

The Fall of the Faculty: The Rise of the All-Administrative University and Why It Matters

Ginsberg, Benjamin

LB2341 .G496 2013

Teaching Models: Designing Instruction for 21st Century Learners

Milman, Natlie B. et al

LB2806.15 .K54 2014

Ignorance: How It Drives Science

Firestein, Stuart

Q175.32.K45 F57 2012

Mathematical Thinking: Problem-Solving and Proofs

D-Angelo, John P. et al

QA39.2 .D25 2000

Turing's Cathedral: The Origins of the Digital Universe

Dyson, George

QA76.17 .D97 2012

From Counterculture to Cyberculture: Stewart Brand, the Whole Earth Network, and the Rise of Digital Utopianism

Turner, Fred

QA76.9.C66 T875 2006

The Avalanche Handbook

The Mountaineers Books

QC929.A8 M39 2006

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II, Second Edition: from elements to applications

Reedijk, Jan et al (eds)

QD151.2 .C64 2013

Napoleon's Buttons: How 17 Molecules Changed History

LeCouteur, Penny

QD37 .L34 2004

Chromatographic Analysis of the Environment

Nollet, Leo M.L.

QD79.C4 C48 2006

Current Protocols Select: Methods and Applications in Microscopy and Imaging

Watkins, Simon, et al

QH205.2 .C864 2013

Stem Cells: From Biology to Therapy

Meyers, Robert A.

QH588.S83 S74525 2013

Functional Metabolism: Regulation and Adaptation

Storey, Kenneth B.

QP171.F86 2004

Vitamin A and Carotenoids

Preedy, Victor R. (ed)

QP772.V5 V55 2012

Atlas of Immunology

Cruse, Julius M et al

QR182 .C78 2010

Case Studies in Allergic Disorders

Oettgen, Hans

RC586 .O38 2013

Against Their Will: The Secret History of Medical Experimentation on Children in Cold War America

Hornblum, Allen M. et al

RJ85 .H67 2013

Computer Graphics: Principles and Practice

Hughes, John F. et al

T385 .C5735 2014

Chemistry of Hazardous Materials

Meyer, Eugene

TH9446.H38 M48 2014

 

 

Websites of Interest

Understanding Science: Teaching Resources
http://undsci.berkeley.edu/teaching/index.php

The world of science is diverse and fascinating, but traditional methods of teaching sometimes don't do it justice. This site from the University of California helps teachers help their students become fascinated by the process of scientific discovery. The site contains several "teachers' lounges" where educators can share information, resources, and also learn about new pedagogical developments and innovations. Visitors shouldn't miss the Guide to Understanding Science 101, which includes answers to questions like What is science? and so on. Moving on, the site also contains other areas, including Correcting Misconceptions, Teaching Tools, and Conceptual Framework, which helps educators identify age-appropriate learning goals. [KMG]

Learn Chemistry: Higher Education Resources
http://www.rsc.org/learn-chemistry/collections/higher-education/he-resources/teaching-and-learning-chemistry

What's the best way to teach chemistry? Some teachers may wish to start with this site, created by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The materials are divided into sections that include Teaching and Learning Chemistry and Teaching and Learning Methods. The bulk of the hands-on classroom materials are located in the Resources area. Activities include "Design Your Own Fireworks Show!" and "Sewage Pollution: A Case Study," and incorporate student and teacher guides, handouts, worksheets, writing activities, and more. The Enhancing Employability area includes very useful materials on how chemists can develop their business skills and commercial awareness before they enter the workforce. Finally, the site gives visitors the opportunity to sign up for updates via a range of social media or email.

From DNA to Beer: Harnessing Nature in Medicine and Industry
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/exhibition/fromdnatobeer/

What can we learn from studying DNA and beer? This is just the type of query that inspires the people at the U.S. National Library of Medicine. This online exhibit is meant to accompany a traveling exhibition and is full of information about key technological innovations that have involved the marriage between medical scholars and industrial professionals. Browsing the Learn More area, visitors will find interactive features about how insulin was made from recombinant DNA. Additional features cover the fermentation of beer and the creation of penicillin. The Digital Gallery contains nineteen fascinating items, such as catalogs celebrating Louis Pasteur, treatises on food adulteration, and animal chemistry. These archival items truly bring the history of medicine and innovation to the forefront. For those interested, the site is nicely rounded out with suggested readings and other complementary websites. [KMG]


From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2012. https://www.scout.wisc.edu/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip