This is the "Summer 2014" page of the "COAST Library Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COAST Library Newsletter   Tags: ast, cet, computer science, cs, engineering, mmet, newsletter  

Library newsletter for COAST.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/coast Print Guide RSS Updates

Summer 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

Library Instruction Sessions

Just a reminder that I will be here summer semester.  If you need library instruction for any of your classes, please contact me to schedule a session.

For this newsletter, I thought I would highlight some of the library's databases.  You can access the following by going to the library's website (library.weber.edu), clicking on Article Databases, selecting the first letter of the database of interest, and clicking on the database title.

Birds of North America-Contains information on birds in the United States and Canada.

FAITS: Faulkner Advisory on Info Tech StudiesFull-text online technology-related report database which covers a wide variety of topics including security, IT infrastructure, telecommunications, and the World Wide Web. 

JSTOR Plant Science-Plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.

USGS National Geologic Map Database-U.S. Geological Survey database which includes a lexicon of geologic names of the U.S., a geologic map image database, and related resources.

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Title

Author

Call Number

Engine Emissions Measurement Handbook

Nakamura, Hiroshi et al

TL214.P6 E57 2014

Sound and Safe: A History of Listening Behind the Wheel

Bijsterveld, Karin et al

TL246 .B55 2014

The Explainer: From Déjà Vu to Why the Sky Is Blue, and Other Conundrums

AG243 .E97 2013

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge

Project Management Institute

HD69.P75 G845 2013

Practice Standard for Earned Value Management

Project Management Institute

HD69.P75 P65155 2011

Practice Standard for Project Risk Management

Project Management Institute

HD69.P75 P657 2009

It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens

Boyd, Danah

HQ799.2.I5 B68 2014

Q Tasks: How to Empower Students to Ask Questions and Care About Answers

Koechlin, Carol et al

LB2006.44 .K64 2006

Perspective

DVD

NC750.P57 2004

The Democratic Surround: Multimedia and American Liberalism from World War II to the Psychedelic Sixties

Turner, Fred

P95.82.U6 T87 2013

The Lean Manager: A Novel of Lean Transformation

Balle, Michael et al

PS3602.A473 L43 2009

The Computer Boys Take Over: Computers, Programmers, and the Politics of Technical Expertise

Ensmenger, Nathan

QA76.6 .E58 2010

Code Complete: A Practical Handbook of Software Construction

McConnell, Steve

QA76.76.D47 M39 2004

On the Mend: Revolutionizing Healthcare to Save Lives and Transform the Industry

Toussaint, John

RA395.A3 T68 2010

Present Shock: When Everything Happens Now

Rushkoff, Douglas

T14.5 .R86 2013

Handbook of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Badiru, Adedeji B. (ed)

T56.23 .H35 2013

Lean Systems: Applications and Case Studies in Manufacturing, Service, and Healthcare

Cudney, Elizabeth et al (eds)

T58.8 .L35 2014

Materials and Process Selection for Engineering Design

Faraq, Mahmoud M.

TA174 .F26 2013

Nondestructive Testing

DVD

TA417.2 .N673 2004 (kit)

Metal Fatigue in Engineering

Fatemi, Ali

TA460.M4437 2001

Energy Systems: A New Approach to Engineering Thermodynamics

Gicquel, Renaud

TJ265 .G45 2011

Principles of Sustainable Energy Systems

Kreith, Frank et al

TJ808 .P75 2014

The Garage: Automobility and Building Innovation in America's Early Auto Age

Jakle, John a. et al

TL153 .J269 2013

Zero Carbon Car: Green Technology and the Automotive Industry

Long, Brian

TL221.15 .L66 2013

American Automobiles of the Brass Era: Essential Specifications of 4,000+ Gasoline Powered Passenger Cars, 1906-1915, with a Statistical and Historical Overview

Dluhy, Robert D.

TL23 .D59 2013

Rocketing Into the Future: The History and Technology of Rocket Planes

van Pelt, Michel

TL781 .V358 2012

The Ghost Rockets: Mystery Missiles and Phantom Projectiles in our Skies

Hanks, Micah A.

TL789 .H3562 2013

UFOs: Generals, Pilots, and Government Officials Go on the Record

Kean, Leslie

TL789.3 .K43 2010

UFOs, Area 51, and Government Informants: A Report on Government Involvement in UFO Crash Retrievals

Cameron, Grant et al

TL789.4 .C354 2013

Quick Changeover Concepts Applied: Dramatically Reduce Set-Up Time and Increase Production Flexibility with SMED

Herr, Karsten

TS155 .H3965 2013

Six Sigma Case Studies with Minitab®

Pochampally, Kishore K. et al

TS156.17.S59 P63 2014

Productivity and Reliability-Based Maintenance Management

Stephens, Matthew

TS173 .S73 2010

Manufacturing Facilities Design & Material Handling

Stephens, Matthew P. et al

TS184 .M49 2013

 

Web Sites of Interest

The Society of Women Engineers
http://societyofwomenengineers.swe.org/

Formed in 1950, the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) works to give "women engineers a unique place and voice within the engineering industry." Its website offers visitors access to a range of resources via headings such as Membership, Learning, Scholarships, and K-12 Outreach. This last area features a range of items including podcasts and webinars that explore mechanical engineering, gender equity in college engineering programs, and other interesting topics. Within the Learning section of the site, visitors can learn about the SWE's free online courses, career opportunities, and relevant conferences and events. Moving on, visitors should not miss the SWE Magazine, featuring articles such as, "Technology as Workplace Differentiator" and "Redefining the Workspace." A subscription-based newsletter is also available for interested parties. [KMG]

Big dig for celebrated video game is called off in New Mexico
E.T.'s Curse: The strange saga of the world's worst video game
http://www.slate.com/articles/video/video/2014/03/e_t_the_video_game_legend_is_the_atari_game_really_buried_in_a_new_mexico.html

RIP ET: The Legend of the Long-Buried Video Game
http://www.npr.org/2014/03/25/294385139/rip-et-the-legend-of-the-long-buried-video-game

Documentary About Mysterious Atari Video Game Burial of 1983 in the Works
http://guardianlv.com/2014/03/documentary-about-mysterious-atari-video-game-burial-of-1983-in-the-works/

The Console Living Room
https://archive.org/details/consolelivingroom

Virtual Atari
http://www.virtualatari.org/

Videogame History Museum
http://www.vghmuseum.org/

Out in the deserts of New Mexico, lie secrets of the Southwest including those related to the Manhattan Project and the dawn of the atomic age. Yet, more recently a new question has emerged: What about all of those video game cartridges? Yes, they are out there. It is no minor matter, as the video cartridges contain the poorly received game "E.T.: The Extraterrestrial," based on the popular movie. Apparently, after the video game failed to perform with video game fans, hundreds of cartridges were abandoned in the Alamogordo, New Mexico city dump. Now a team of documentary filmmakers are seeking permission from the New Mexico Environment Department to see if they can perform a site excavation as part of their quest. As of this writing, the dig has been put on hold as the aforementioned department has yet to give formal approval. [KMG]

The first link will take visitors to a short video from Slate about this most curious excavation. The second link will whisk interested parties to a great news clip from NPR about the quest by these filmmakers to dig up this 1980s trove of video game cartridges. Moving on, the third link will take users to a news article from last Sunday's Guardian Liberty Voice about this quest and the backstory behind this intriguing video game. The fourth link will take interested parties to the Console Living Room, an initiative of the Internet Archive. Here, visitors can play over one thousand video games created originally for the Atari 2600 and other consoles. The fifth link leads to a fabulous site where interested parties can learn more about the Atari 2600 and also play hundreds of additional games online. The final link leads to the homepage of the Videogame History Museum. Here, visitors can learn about its collection, upcoming events, and explore the gallery of video game legends.

From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2014.   https://www.scout.wisc.edu/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip