Women's Wear Daily (WWD)
- Searchable website available from: http://www.wwd.com/
Full text of articles available from:
- Available in full text from 2000 - present day from the ABI/Inform Complete database
- Available in full text from 2002 - present day from the Business Source Premier database
If one of the above links does not work, click on this link for instructions on how to access Women's Wear Daily: http://screencast.com/t/CVceFftRO
- Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures -- as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel -- this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.
Top French Fashion Designers of Today
Top American Fashion Designers and Firms
Italian Fashion Names of Today
Other Fashion Names Around the World
- Fashion.net: The Online Fashion Guide
- Fashion Windows (http://www.fashionwindows.com)
- Women's Fashion from About.com
- Snap Fashion (http://www.snapfashion.co.uk/)
- Snap Fashun - Digital Fasion Resources (http://www.snapfashun.com/)
- FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising)
- Angel of Fashion
An evaluative directory of fashion sites.
- Yahoo: Fashion Magazines
- Yahoo: Fashion History
- Fashion Group International
- worthglobalstylenetwork (WGSN)
Industry and Market Research Databases
- Business Source Premier - Search for Industry by name
- Click here to see a brief video on how to search for a particular industry
- Mintel Market Reports - Provides reports and analysis of U.S. and International consumer markets including Market Size, Market Drives, Retail Channels, and more. User profile required before access the database.
- Thomas Register of Manufactuerers - A directory of manufacturers of a number of products.
- Provides indexed and full text access to scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspaper articles in the business subject areas
- Provides indexed and full text access to scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular magazines in the business subject area
- Includes a large number of trade publications
- Full text access to the Wall Street Journal and other newspapers
- Databases may be searched as a group or individually
- Provides full text access to national and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Financial Times, and Salt Lake Tribune.
- Provides access to a broad subject range of articles including business.
- Provides indexed and some full text access to scholarly journals through the Google Search Engine
- If using from off-campus, click on Scholar Preferences, enter Weber State University, and click on Find Library
- Check the items for Weber State University and click on Save Preferences
- This helps to identify if articles are available in the Stewart Library
Fashion Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures -- as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel -- this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.
- Costume & Fashion Reference GT 510.N6
- A to Z of Women in World History Reference CT3202.K84 2002
Includes a section on fashion designers and trendsetters.
- 20th Century Fashion Series Includes the following titles:
- 1900-20 linen & lace Reference GT596.M44 2000
- The 60's: mods & hippies Reference GT596.P68 2000
- The 40's & 50's: utility to new look Reference GT596.R49 2000
- The 70's: punks, glam rockers, & new romantics Reference GT596.G53 2000
- The 80's & 90's: power dressing to sportswear Reference GT596.L585 2000
- The Complete History of Costume and Fashion: From Egypt to the Present Day Reference GT375.C67 2000
- Four Hundred Years of Fashion Reference GT733.V532 1999
- Fairchild's Dictionary of Fashion Reference TT503.C34 1998
- The Fashion Book Reference TT503.F37 1998
- Who's Who in Fashion Reference TT505.A1S74 1996
- Contemporary Fashion Reference TT505.A1C66 1995
- The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to the Present Day Reference GT720.C37 1994
- The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1550-1920 Reference GT580.C38 1986
- American Decades Reference Table 2B E169.12.A419 1994
- American Eras Reference Table 2B E169.1.A471979 1997
- World Eras Reference Table 2B D20.W67 2001
Company Research Tips
A few Questions to Ask Yourself when Beginning Company Research
- What company are you researching?
If you need help in selecting a company, try the Fortune 500 web site. This site lists the Fortune 500 companies in order of Fortune 500 rank and provides links to their homepages, a company snapshot, industry information, and other information pertaining to the company. Since these companies are large publicly held companies, it will be relatively easy to find information.
- Is the company public or private?
a. Determine whether the company is publicly held, privately owned, or a subsidiary of a publicly held organization. Remember, information is more easily found for publicly held companies.
b. Public Company stock can be bought on public stock exchanges. The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) requires that public companies disclose financial information to the public. Therefore, there is a lot of financial data and disclosures about public company practices.
c. Private Company stock is typically owned by the principles in the company (founders, family members key employees, etc.). Financial disclosures do not have to be made to the public. The best strategy is to search for a company web site, news sources or inquire directly to the company. Click on the tab for Private Company Information for more information about resources in this area.
Beware of 'hidden company names' when researching a company. If you cannot find any information on a public company after searching by company name, try potential variants of the company name or use the ticker symbol. Here are a few examples:
- DuPont: The company's name is actually E I Du Pont de Nemours & Company. For companies with initials in their name, try searching both forms. Another example is E. W. Scripps.
- IBM: is actually International Business Machines
- AT&T: really IS AT&T (but used to be American Telephone and Telegraph Company)
- The Gap: Some directories will list this company under the T's, while others will list it under G. If a company has a 'The' at the beginning of its name, try both.
- Alcoa: Commonly known as 'Alcoa', it's proper legal name is Aluminum Company of America. Some directories list it under 'Alcoa', and some under its proper name.
- Using punctuation: Some databases don't mind periods or commas- they simply ignore them. Others are more picky: if you don't include punctuation, you won't get results, OR including punctuation gives you no results. Again, if you're unsure, try both.
Industry Research Tips
Some Questions to Consider for Industry Research
- What are the industry trends and areas of growth?
- Who are the leading companies in the industry?
- What products and services are in the greatest demand?
- What new technologies are impacting the industry?
Some of this information can be found in some of the sources under the Industry Information tab.
Stewart Library Room: 144
Phone: (801) 626-8662
Reference Desk: (801) 626-6415