Guidelines For Finding Articles
1. Familiarize yourself with the Research Tips & Techniques.
- What subject are you researching?
- Have you thought about your search terms?
- What types of articles would be best for you?
2. Use the Database Finder to select the best article database for your topic.
- The database finder lists all of the databases the library has.
- Each database is a specific collection of different academic journals and periodicals.
- Many databases carry full-text articles, though some do not.
- Not sure where to start? Try Academic Search Premier!
3. Search the databases SMARTLY.
- The MORE search terms you use, the FEWER hits you'll get back.
- Try numerous terms; Identify synonyms; Brainstorm!
- Use "AND", "OR" and "NOT" to expand or limit your searches.
- Use the "Refine Search" tab to limit searches to ONLY full-text or peer-reviewed journals.
4. Retrieving your article.
- If your search pulled up a full-text article, click the PDF or HTML Full-Text links to view the article.
- If the search result you want says "Find Full-Text", click that link to see if another database has the same article.
- If the article you want is in "Weber State Print Holdings", write down the citation information, get the call # from the online catalog, and photocopy the article from the print copy upstairs.
- Don't forget -- if we don't have it, Interlibrary Loan can get it for you!
5. Don't be afraid to ask for help.
- There are always Librarians available to assist you with research.
- Reference Librarians can be reached by phone, email, or online chat.
- The Reference Staff is there to help you. Don't be afraid to ask for help if you get stuck.
Health-Related Article Databases
Article databases provide references, abstracts and sometimes the full article from journals, magazines, books and other published literature.
- MEDLINE
(EbscoHost)
The complete MEDLINE database from 1966 to the present. MEDLINE provides references and abstracts to the research journal literature in all areas of medicine, including emergency medicine.
- CINAHL (Cumulative
Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
References and abstracts to the nursing and allied health literature including articles, books and dissertations from 1982 to the present time. Many full text articles. - Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Over 500 scholarly full text journals covering the health and medical areas. Abstracts and references for over 500 additional journals.
Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre- 2002 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. 2002 - present.
An independent publishing house, committed to providing free access to more than 170 peer-reviewed biomedical research articles. Online journals cover biology, medicine, and the life sciences. Open Access, but new users need to set up an account to use it.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost
Health Sciences Librarian |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait