Business and Economic InformationCiting Government DocumentsCongressional InformationDocuments and SpeechesFederal Government AgenciesFederal Government Information SitesGovernment Agency PublicationsGovernment CDs and DVDsHot Topics and Documents in the NewsLaws and RegulationsPolitical and Election ResourcesSupreme CourtTax FormsUnited States Foreign Relations and Treaties
Business and Economic InformationCity and County Laws and CodesCity and County ResourcesLaws, Rules, Courts and ConstitutionPolitical and Election InformationUtah Encyclopedias, History, Facts and ReferenceUtah State Publications and Tax FormsUtah's Congressional Delegation
City and County InformationCity Laws and CodesCodes, Statutes, Constitutions and LawsState Profiles and Facts
Foreign Country InformationInternational Business and Economic ResourcesInternational Laws, Constitutions and TreatiesInternational Organizations and AgenciesInternational Political and Government ResourcesUnited Nations
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Finding Government Information 

Last update: Jul 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/government  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Federal Information             Print Page
  
 

Fast Links

 

Finding Statistics

Finding Maps

Tax Forms

Hill Air Force Base e Repository

Google Government Search

USA.gov


 

Using Catalogs

Using Catalogs

Use the WSU online catalog to find location and availability of documents, CDs and other media in Stewart Library The Online Catalog lists many, but not all, government publications available at WSU. Search by author, title, keyword or subject. Link to other Utah Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries. Many older documents are not found in online catalogs. Government Documents are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents Classification Number. Publications are grouped together by the issuing agency.

To find documents not in the catalog, use the Catalog of U.S. Govt. Publications , an index to government documents from GPO Access. This database indexes government documents since 1976.

To locate older documents use the print version of the Monthly Catalog, located in Government Document Reference, 1st Floor North - GP 3.8. Many of the documents are found in the Microforms area of the library located in Microforms - Middle Level North.

Stewart Library also has government documents on CD-ROMs or DVDS which can be obtained at the Reference Desk. CD-DVD List. Most of these are available for check out.

Reference Table 2A contains finding aids and information about government documents.

Interlibrary Loan:

If we do not own a particular document you need, we will borrow it for you from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

 
 

Finding Federal Government Information

 

Finding Government Information Online

Federal Government Information Online

Agencies, Bureaus & Sites

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids - GPO

Business & Economic Information

Census Information -GODORT

Citing Government Information

Clinton Presidential Library and Museum

Congressional Information

Consumer Information

Databases

Documents & Speeches

Electronic Documents

Energy and the Environment - GODORT

Executive Branch - University of Michigan

Federal Benefits & Assistance Information

Federal Government Information Sites & Links

Federal Websites for Tribal Libraries  and Tribal College Libraries - Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Government Agency Publication Sites

GPO Access

Historical Documents

Hot Topics

Laws & Regulations

Live Help Web Chat - Questions about federal agencies, programs, benefits, or services

Maps

Patents, Trademarks & Copyright - U of U

Political & Election Information

POTUS - U.S. Presidents- Biographies , Speeches

President of the United States - U. of Michigan Resources & Links

Public Papers of the Presidents - George H. W. Bush - Present

Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S. U. of Michigan from Hoover to Clinton

Public Safety - USA.gov

Statistics

Supreme Court

United States Foreign Relations & Treaties

Welfare and Health - GODORT

The White House

Weather Information from NOAA -User name and password required. Ask at the Reference Desk or Davis Library Desk.

 

Print Indexes

Print

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications 1900-1971 GP 3.8/7: Government Documents Reference.

Subject Guide to U.S. Government Reference Sources  Z 1223.Z7R63 Reference Table 2A

List of Classes The List of Classes is the official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program. GP 3.24: The most recent edition is located on Reference Table 2A.

U.S. Serial Set Index 1789-1969 Index to Congressional and department reports. J 74.C5 - Government Document Reference

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents 1789 - 1976. J 83.C7  Government Document Reference

Guide to U.S. Government Publications Z 1223.Z7 A574   Reference Table 2A.

Using Government Information Sources J 83.S4  Reference Table 2A. "A guide to basic government information sources used for answering reference questions. Separate chapters cover search strategies and basic searching; specific topics such as, foreign countries, climate, elections, maps, education, and legislative histories; agency searches; and various types of statistical searches."

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLonna Rivera
Contact Info:
Weber State University
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Documents

 

Government Search Engines & Databases

Search Engines & Databases

Google Government Search Google/unclesam -  Use this search engine first to search for documents online.

USA.Gov (Formerly FirstGov.gov) Official government site - Searches U.S. Government Web Sites. You can also browse by subject area. Features FAQ link and Live Web Chat.

Fedworld.gov NTIS provides a comprehensive central access point for searching, locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information

Government Databases

 

Government Catalogs

Use the WSU online catalog to find location and availability of documents, CDs  and other media in Stewart Library  The Online Catalog lists many, but not all, government publications available at WSU. Search by author, title, keyword  or subject.  Link to other Utah Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries.  Many older documents are not found in online catalogs.  Government Documents are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents Classification Number.  Publications are grouped together by the issuing agency.

To find documents not in the catalog, use  the Catalog of U.S. Govt. Publications , an  index  to government documents from  GPO Access. This database indexes government documents since 1976.

To locate older documents use the print version of the Monthly Catalog,  located in Government Document Reference, 1st Floor North  -  GP 3.8.  Many of the documents are found in the Microforms area of the library located in Microforms - Middle Level North.

Stewart Library also has government documents on  CD-ROMs or DVDS which can be obtained at the Reference Desk.   CD-DVD List.    Most of these are available for check out.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait