This is the "Home" page of the "English 2010 (Dr. Karen Moloney) Violence or Nonviolence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 2010 (Dr. Karen Moloney) Violence or Nonviolence  

Use this guide for Dr. Moloney's English 2010 assignment dealing with the pros and cons of violence and nonviolence.
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/content.php?pid=79830 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome

 This guide is a selected list of resources that will be useful for locating background information about groups and individuals who are proponents of violence or nonviolence as a means of social change.

 

Classroom presentation

 

Reference Books

Reference books can be good starting places for background information. The following are located on the library’s middle level and must be used in the library.

  • Encyclopedia of American Social Movements           Reference HN 57 .E594
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights           Reference JC 571 .E67
  • Encyclopedia of Violence       Reference HM 291 .D4857
  • Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict          Reference HM 291.E625
  • Human Rights Encyclopedia                          Reference JC 57 .L523 .E6
  • International Encyclopedia of Human Rights            Reference JC 571 .E6
  • Leaders from the 1960s: A Biographical Sourcebook of American Activism   Reference  HN 59 .L43
  • Violence in America               Reference HN 90 .V5V5474                         

 

 

Library Catalog

Use the library catalog to find books on your topic.

·         Try these headings in the General Keyword or Subject Keyword search option

o   Nonviolence

o   Pacifism

o   “Political violence”

o   Names of specific individuals or groups

·         Use quotations marks around phrases such as “ACT UP” and “political violence”

·         Use the Subject Alphabetical search option to see how a topic has been subdivided and how many books are under each subject

·         Use an asterisk to search for words with the same root word, such as pacifis* to find pacifist, pacifists, pacifism. This works in the catalog and the article databases

 

 

 

Article Databases

Use Article Databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. WSU students have access to over 200 databases with articles from over 40,000 full text journals. These are good starting places:

·         Academic Search Premier

o   Use the Find Full Text link to find articles that aren’t full text in this database but are full text in other WSU databases

o   Use the word AND in between your search terms; for example: “act up” and aids (capitalization is not necessary)

o   Use the limit for scholarly/peer reviewed articles

·         JSTOR

o   Scholarly, full text articles but usually not recent 2-3 years

·         Lexis Nexis

o   Good source for newspaper articles. Includes New York Times full text back to June 1980

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Nicole Beatty
Contact Info
Stewart Library, Room 146
801-626-7034
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip