This is the "General Investment Resources" page of the "Finance & Investment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance & Investment  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/financeandinvestment Print Guide RSS Updates

General Investment Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Investment Resources

  • Investopedia.com
    A searchable database of finance and investment terms. Categories include Acronyms, Buzz Words, Fundamental Analysis, Mutual Funds, New Economy, Options & Futures, Retirement Planning, Stock Trading, Taxes, Technical Analysis, Real Estate, and World Financial Markets. Each entry provides a definition of the term, supplemental information from the "Investing Guy", and a list of annotated links related to the terms. The "Investopedia University", located at the bottom of the page, contains tutorials and articles on various topics. 
  • Motley Fool
    Advice on investment strategy, personal finance, and retirement.  Good source of general information for beginning or intermediate-level investors.
  • Bloomberg.com
    For more experienced investors.
  • Quicken.com  
    See also Quicken.com Invesments  to follow mutual funds or equities and access background information through listed categories such as fund atlas, market outlook, net asset values, Morningstar profiles, top performers, fund search, book reviews, free quotes, personal portfolio, graphing, and company research. 
  • American Association of Individual Investors
    Basic information covered for all types of investments. 
  • Investor Guide: Leading Guide to Investing on the Web  
    Includes many annotated links to important investor Web sites. 
  • Investor Protection Trust
    "IPT provides independent, objective information needed by consumers to make informed investment decisions."  Good source of non-commercial investor education materials.  Good starting point for investment newbies.
  • SBBI (Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation) yearbook  Reference HG4501.S7949
    Provides a comprehensive, historical view of the performance of capital markets dating back to 1926. Contains total returns and index values for large and small company stocks, long-term corporate bonds, long- and intermediate-term government bonds, and Treasury bills and inflation. 
  • Yahoo Finance Page
    A wealth of information on the market.  Includes stock and mutual fund screeners.
 

Periodicals

  • Barron's  (Available from 1/4/1988 to present in ABI/INFORM Global) 
  • Financial Analysts Journal  (Available from 11/1/1987 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Financial Executive  (Available from 11/1/1987 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Financial Management  (Available from 3/1/1990 to present Business Source Premier)
  • Financial Review  (Available from 1990 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Financial Planning  (Available from 6/1/1998 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Financial Times
  • Financial World   (Available from 12/29/1987 to 7/1/1997 in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Forbes  (Available from 1/1/1990 to present in Business Source Premier) 
  • Futures
  • Investment Dealers Digest  (Available from 1/8/1990 to present in Lexis Nexis Academic Universe)
  • Institutional Investor  (Available from 1/1/1991 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Investors Business Daily  (Available from 1/2/1990 to present in Lexis Nexis Academic Universe)
  • Journal of Portfolio Management  (Available from 10/1/1987 to present in ABI/INFORM Global)
  • Kiplingers  (Available from 7/1/1991 to present Business Source Premier)
  • Money  (Available from 12/1/1987 to present in ABI/INFORM)
  • Pensions & Investments  (Available from 6/1/1996 to present in Business Source Premier)
  • Wall Street Journal (Available from 1/2/1984 to present in ABI/INFORM)
 

Handbooks, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Print items will be found in the reference area of the Stewart Library.

  • Investopedia.com
    A searchable database of finance and investment terms. Categories include Acronyms, Buzz Words, Fundamental Analysis, Mutual Funds, New Economy, Options & Futures, Retirement Planning, Stock Trading, Taxes, Technical Analysis, Real Estate, and World Financial Markets. Each entry provides a definition of the term, supplemental information from the "Investing Guy", and a list of annotated links related to the terms. The "Investopedia University", located at the bottom of the page, contains tutorials and articles on various topics. 
  • Dictionary for business & finance   HF1001 .T43 1990
  • The dictionary of banking : over 5,000 terms defined and explained   HG151.W64 1994
  • Dictionary of banking terms   HG151.F57 1997
  • Dictionary of finance and investment terms   HG151 .D69 1995
  • Encyclopedic dictionary of accounting and finance   HF1001 .S525 1989
  • Thorndike encyclopedia of banking and financial tables   HG1626 .T49 1980 
  • Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of finance   HG151.B49 1997 
  • The Wall Street Journal guide to understanding money & investing  Reference HG4910 .M67 1993
  • Personal Financial Planning Handbook: With Forms and Checklists   HG179 .P5556
  • International Handbook of Corporate Finance   HG4027.3 .I58 1997
  • Dictionary of Banking   HG151 .R66 1993
  • Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance   HG151 .M8 1991
  • Encyclopedia of Investments   HG4527 .E5 1982
  • Dictionary of Investing   HG4513 .R67 1993
  • Investor's Information Sourcebook   HG4515.9 .M35 1995
  • The Language of Wall Street   HG4513 .W92
  • Investment and Securities Dictionary   HG4513.T48 1986 
  • International dictionary of banking and finance  HG151.C54 1999 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ed Hahn
Contact Info
Stewart Library Room: 144

Phone: (801) 626-8662

Reference Desk: (801) 626-6415

edwardhahn@weber.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip