This is the "Summer 2013" page of the "Geosciences Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geosciences Newsletter   Tags: geoscience, newsletter  

Library newsletter for the Geosciences department.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/geoscinews Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Summer 2013 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

For this newsletter, I thought I would highlight some of the library's databases.  You can access the following by going to the library's website (library.weber.edu), clicking on Article Databases, selecting the first letter of the database of interest, and clicking on the database title.

Science, Technology, and Society 
Science, Technology, and Society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. It emphasizes an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography.

Scitation 
Scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.

Encyclopedia of Underwarter Life 
A breathtaking insight into underwater life, this Encyclopedia offers unrivalled coverage of the fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit our rivers, lakes, and oceans. It describes in detail the anatomy, behaviour, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of species: from microscopic, single-celled organisms swept along by water currents to gigantic powerhouses of the deep. Fascinating feature articles examine some of the strangest and most interesting aspects of these species in more depth, such as the origins of coral reefs; the cycle of the salmon; and how fish produce and use artificial illumination

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Title

Author

Call Number

Airborne Topographic Lidar Manual

Renslow, Michael

TK6592.O6 M36 2012

Collector's Guide to Quartz and Other Silica Minerals

Lauf, Robert J.

QE391.Q2 L38 2012

Earthquake: Nature and Culture

Robinson, Andrew

QE534.3 .R63 2012

MATLAB® and Design Recipes for Earth Sciences: How to Collect, Process and Present Geoscientific Information

Trauth, Martin et al

QE48.8 .T73 2013

On a Farther Shore: The Life and Legacy of Rachel Carson

Souder, William

QH31.C33 S68 2012

Oregon Geology

Orr, Elizabeth L. et al

QE155 .O775 2012

Paleomagnetism of Sedimentary Rocks: Process and Interpretation

Kodama, Kenneth

QE501.4.P35 K64 2013

Planetary Surface Processes

Melosh, H. Jay

QB603.S95 M45 2011

The Adult Learner: The definitive classic in adult education and human resource development

Knowles, et al

LC5225.L42 K56 2012

The Earthquake Observers: Disaster Science from Lisbon to Richter

Coen, Deborah R.

QE539 .C64 2013

Watching Vesuvius: A History of Science and Culture in Early Modern Italy

Cocco, Sean

QE523.V5 C63 2013

 

Web Sites of Interest

California Geological Survey-Educational Resources Center
http://www.conservation.ca.gov/cgs/information/Pages/EdResCenter.aspx

How do we understand the Earth and its complexity? It's a crucial question in our age. Fortunately,  the California Geological Survey is interested in these matters. The Survey's Educational Resources Center site features California geology maps. teachers' aids, and "California Geology 101." This last resource is an interactive index of online geologic field trip guides and related sites. The resources include an exploration of the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake, replies to questions posed by the "Earthquake DOC," and a glossary of rock and mineral terminology. The maps should not be missed either, as they include a fault activity map of California and a detailed map of the Golden State's geomorphic provinces. [KMG]

Scientific American: 60-Second Science
http://www.scientificamerican.com/podcast/podcasts.cfm?type=60-second-science

Science in a minute? Sure, why not! Scientific American is offering up these bite-sized offerings that give a brief intro to a range of science-related topics and investigations. New, minute-long offerings are added every weekday, and recent additions have included "Fly Cells Divide by the Clock," "Twitter Reveals Language Geographic Distribution," and "Bed Bugs Bollixed by Bean." Visitors can sign up to learn about new additions via their RSS feed or iTunes. These short audio blurbs could easily be usedin any number of classrooms to keep students engaged. It's a great resource and one that can be used with a range of learners. [KMG]

Teacher to Teacher: Critical Thinking in the College Classroom
http://www.utexas.edu/academic/ctl/criticalthinking/accessible.php?section=1

How do educators teach critical thinking to college students? It's an important task, and one that can be done creatively and in a fashion that speaks to a wide range of learners. This website created by the University of Texas at Austin's Teacher to Teacher initiative compiles fourteen modules: ten focused on specific critical thinking skills and four on specific teaching methods. The Explore tab can be used to look around the modules as organized by class size, type of module, or location (such as in class or out of class) Each module contains a definition and exploration, an annotated bibliography, real classroom footage from the University of Texas, and reflective commentaries from teachers. The modules are divided into four sections dedicated to critical thinking and metacognition. [KMG]

From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2013. https://www.scout.wisc.edu/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip