This is the "Library Resources" page of the "HLTH 1030: Healthy Lifestyles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HLTH 1030: Healthy Lifestyles   Tags: hlth1030  

This guide provides resources related to living a healthy life.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2012 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/healthylifestyles Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Resources

Stewart Library & the WSU-Davis Library own or have access to a large number of resources to help in your research.  

Getting Started:  if you're not sure of a topic or need some background information, reference books can be very helpful.  We have multiple resources, both online and in print in the library.

 

Online Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online -- Oxford Reference Online contains a number of useful titles. You can do a keyword search on your topic or browse relevant titles listed in the Medicine category under "Subject Reference".

These titles include:

  • The Oxford Companion to the Body
  • A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
  • Concise Medical Dictionary
  • An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs
  • The Oxford Companion to Medicine
  • A Dictionary of Nursing
  • A Dictionary of Psychology
  • A Dictionary of Public Health
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine

CREDO Reference --CREDO Reference also contains a number of relevant resources. You can search by keyword or browse the available titles by using the "Find a Book" link at the top of the page and choosing the Medicine category.

Titles include:

  • The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
  • Baillière's Midwives' Dictionary
  • Black's Medical Dictionary (42nd ed.)
  • The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
  • Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing 
  • Collins Dictionary of Medicine 
  • Dictionary of Medical Terms
  • Dictionary of Optometry and Visual Science
  • Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
  • Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
  • Encyclopedia of Women's Health
  • International Dictionary of Homeopathy
  • Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
  • Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
  • Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary (Rev. ed.)
  • Mosby's Dental Dictionary
  • Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
  • Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
  • Mosby's Emergency Dictionary
  • Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
  • Natural Medicine Instructions for Patients
  • The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health
  • Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
  • The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia
  • The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
  • Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
  • Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
 

Print Reference Resources

Stewart Library Reference Resources

  • American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia--Ref RC81.A2 A497 2003
  • Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine--Ref R133.C6 1993
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR)--Ref RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
  • Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures--Ref Q124.8.E53 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Practice--Ref R733.E525 1999
  • Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health--Ref R121.M65 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Family Health--Ref RC81.A2 M336 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine--Ref R733.H376 2004
  • The Encyclopedia of Medical Breakthroughs & Forbidden Treatments-Ref RA418.5.M4 E52 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Occupational Health and Safety--Ref RC963.3.E53 1998
  • The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine--Ref RC1206.O355 2005
  • The Encyclopedia of Work-Related Illnesses, Injuries, and Health Issues--Ref RC963.A3 K348 2004
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine--Ref RC41.G35 2006
  • Health and Illness--Ref R733.L477 1997
  • Macmillan Health Encyclopedia--Ref RA776.M174 1993
  • Milestones in Health and Medicine--Ref R133.H36 2000
  • World of Health--Ref R130.5.W67 2000

Davis Library Reference Resources

  • The American Medical Association Encyclopedia of Medicine--Ref RC81.A2 A52 1997
  • A Consumer's Dictionary of Medicines--Ref RM300.W56 1996
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR)--Ref RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine--Ref RS164.C4437 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine--Ref RZ433.M87 1998
  • The Encyclopedia of Nutrition & Good Health--Ref RA784.R646 1997
  • The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine--Ref R125.F32 2007
  • New Medicine--Ref RC81.N523 2007
  • The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine--Ref R121.O884 2001
 

Finding Books

Using Catalogs:


Print Books

Use the Library Catalog to find the location and availability of books and other media in the Library. If you find a book of interest, look at its status. If it is available, write down the title and the call number and note its location in the library. Most of the books in the Main library are located in the General Collection on the Top Level of the library, but books can also be found in Special Collections, Government Documents, Young People's, and Reference areas.

If a book that you would like is at the Davis campus and you would like to have it sent to the Main campus, complete the form at http://library.weber.edu/ref/DeliverForm/davis2stewartBookDeliveries.cfm.

If you are at the Davis campus and would like to request a book from the Main campus, complete the form at http://library.weber.edu/ref/DeliverForm/stewart2davisBookDeliveries.cfm

Electronic Books

To find electronic books (the library has approximately 10,000), use the Limits section of the Library Catalog and select Electronic Books.

Worldcat

Another resource to find books in libraries outside the Stewart Library is Worldcat. It is a catalog of books, web resources, and other materials from libraries all over the world.

Using Google Books:

Search Google Books to find books with content that matches your search terms. You might find a few pages or even the entire book online. Use the "Advanced Book Search" option to limit to full view books, those published between specific years, etc. Then click on the "Find this book in a library" link to find the nearest library that has the book.

 

Finding Articles

Article databases provide references, abstracts and sometimes the full article from journals, magazines, books and other published literature.  

Academic Search Premier
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost

CINAHL(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) 
References and abstracts to the nursing and allied health literature including articles, books and dissertations from 1982 to the present time.  Some full text articles.

MEDLINE (EbscoHost)  
The complete MEDLINE database from 1966 to the present. MEDLINE provides references and abstracts to the research journal literature in all areas of medicine, including nursing and dentistry.

PubMed
A free MEDLINE database (1966-present) with references, abstracts, and links to related articles. 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 
Over 500 scholarly full text journals covering the health and medical areas. Abstracts and references for over 500 additional journals.


EbscoHost Medical Databases 
Ability to search CINAHL, MEDLINE  and other medical databases with one search.  

Alt-HealthWatch
Nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings and association and consumer newsletters concerning alterative health issues.  Most publications from 1990 to the present.  

PsycINFO  
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.  1887-Present.  
Proquest Newstand
Full-text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources, including the Wall Street Journal.

Newspaper Source
Provides full-text for 128 regional U.S. newspapers, fifteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times, for a total of 160 full text newspapers and other sources.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jason Francis
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip