Reference Maps & Atlases
Maps and Atlases
Maps in the Library
Most maps in the Stewart Library's Map Collection are published by the
United States government and are distributed to the library through the university's
participation in the U.S. Depository Library Program. Almost all maps of the
United States in the Map Collection are produced by or in cooperation with the
U.S. Geological Survey. Maps are located in the Reference Department, Middle
Level North. Many maps are indexed in the library's online catalog. You can limit your search to Atlases/Maps.
TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS
Topographic maps of the United States are arranged alphabetically by State and by Quadrangle name. Each quadrangle is named according to a prominent geographic feature. The topographic maps are located on the Middle level - North in map cases.
For Utah Maps see the 7.5 minute Quadrangle Names Map attached to the top of the map cabinets.
The Index to Topographic and other Map Coverage are guides to individual quadrangle maps available for each state and are located on top of the south map cabinet (green booklets). Look for the STATE INDEX sign. Use indexes to find the maps available for each state, then find the appropriate state drawer and locate the named map. The Catalog of Topographic and other Published Maps for each state are located in the same area (brown booklets) and contain a catalog of USGS published maps for each state. We have many, but not all of the state maps.
Topographical Map Series available at the Library
1:24,000 scale, 7.5 minute. All states filed alphabetically. Look at the signage
1:50,000 scale. Supplements the 7.5 series. See the Index to 1:50,000 scale maps on the south map cabinet.
I:62,500 scale, 15 minute - Utah only.
1:100,000 scale, 30 x 60 minute - See the appropriate state's Index to Topographic and other Map Coverage. These are also filed alphabetically by state.
1:250,000 scale - All states and Antarctica, Canada and Peru.
1:500,000 scale - state maps.
United States maps of various scales
Map Locator "Using open source software and the Google Maps programming interface,
the Map Locator and Downloader allows customers to find the topographic
maps they need, by searching zip code, address, or navigating on an
interactive map. Users can pan, zoom, change the map to see satellite
imagery or a seamless USGS topographic map view, order printed maps or
download a scanned map image in GeoPDF® format." Guide for using the Map Locator from BYU.
USGS GEOLOGIC SERIES AND HYDROLOGIC MAPS
Location: Black Filing Cabinets - Reference, Middle Level North
Included:
| Series | Name | SuDoc # |
| C | Coal Investigations | I 19.85:C |
| CP | Circum-Pacific | I 19.91/2:CP |
| GP | Geophysical Investigations | I 19.87:GP |
| GQ | Geologic Quadrangle | I 19.88:GQ |
| H | Hydrologic Units | Filed by State |
| HA | Hydrologic Investigations | I 19.89:HA |
| I | Miscellaneous Investigations Studies | I 19.91:I |
| L | Land Use and Cover | I 19.112:L |
| MF | Miscellaneous Field Studies | I 19.113:MF |
| MR | Mineral Investigations | I 19.90:MR |
| OC | Oil and Gas Investigations Charts | I 19.92:OC |
| OM | Oil and Gas Investigations Maps | I 19.93:OM |
| SIM | Scientific Investigations | I 19.91/3: |
To find USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps:
GeoRef - (Access through the Library's Databases By Title Page) Database for worldwide literature of the geosciences. 1785 to present for North America; 1933 to present for international literature Updated 24 times a year. Search tips: Select Advanced Searching Mode. Select map as a type of material. Type in search terms, for example Richfield and Utah. Select the appropriate title and note map series and text number in the report number filed of the record. You can also search by coordinates. This is available to WSU students only.
Guide to USGS Publications - Located on Table 2A Reference, Middle Level North - A cumulative guide that contains map series and papers published since the inception of the USGS. This guide contains complete area, subject, coordinate and author indexes. Catalogs more than 10,000 thematic maps and professional papers published by the United States Geological Survey.
National
Geologic Map Database -Geoscience resource for maps
and related data about:
geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology,
paleontology, and marine geology.
USGS Publications Warehouse - Contains Bibliographic citations for over 70,000 publications and full product and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications. USGS numbered series begun in 1880. Links to many download and purchase options.
New Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey - Search by year, month week.
Map Locator - Use this to find Geologic Series maps for purchase from the Map Store.
USGS Map Store - "Here you can find maps, Federal Recreation passes, scientific reports, educational materials, and much more!"
EarthExplorer The U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Earth Explorer Web site provides access to millions of land-related products, including the following: satellite images from Landsat, advanced very high resolution radiometer (AVHRR), and Corona data sets, aerial photographs from the National Aerial Photography Program, NASA, and USGS data sets, and digital cartographic data from digital elevation models, digital line graphs, digital raster graphics, and digital orthophoto quadrangles
USGS paper maps
Reference Atlases & Maps in the Library
REFERENCE MAPS & ATLASES
Atlas of the World - Reference Atlas Table G1021.M213
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide - Reference Atlas Table G1019.R22
The Book of the World - Reference Atlas Table G1021.K3842
Historical Atlas of the United States - Reference Atlas Table G1201.S1 N3
Census Atlas of the United States "A variety of topics are covered in the Census Atlas, ranging from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population." using the 2000 Census - Reference Atlas Table C 205/8-3:29 Also Online
Atlas of Utah - Reference Desk
All TOPO Maps - Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Montana topographic maps on CD-ROM. Ask for the disks at the Circulation Desk. National Geographic Maps on CD. Ask for the disks at the Circulation Desk.
State maps and Road Atlases are located at the Reference Desk.
National Geographic Maps - Black Filing Cabinets - Reference, Middle Level North
City Maps Black Filing Cabinets - Reference, Middle Level North
Utah Geological Survey Maps - Black Filing Cabinets - Reference, Middle Level North
CIA World Maps - World and Country Maps -Black Filing Cabinets - Reference, Middle Level North Also available Online
Many other atlases are found on the Reference Atlas Table and in the Reference Collection
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait