This is the "Spring 2014" page of the "Physics Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics Newsletter   Tags: newsletter, physics  

Library newsletter for the Physics department.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/physnews Print Guide RSS Updates

Spring 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

Happy 2014!!! 

Reserve Books

If you have an extra copy of the textbook(s) that you are using this semester, I would encourage you to put it/them "on reserve" for students.  The form to do so can be found at http://library.weber.edu/sas/departments/media_reserve/tradmedia.cfm

Library Instruction Sessions

Please call me (x6093) if you would like to schedule a library instruction session for your students.  These sessions can be tailored for the paper or project that your students are working on.   

Book/DVD Orders

Ordering stops in March.  If there is an item that you would like to see made available in the library's collection, please send me the title and ISBN number.

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Title

Author

Call Number

The App Generation: How Today’s Youth Navigate Identity, Intimacy, and Imagination in a Digital World

Gardner, Howard, et al

HQ799.9.I58 G37 2013

Next Generation Science Standards

NGSS Lead States

LB1585 .N49 2013

A Framework for K-12 Science Education: Practices, Crosscutting Concepts, and Core Ideas

Quinn, Helen et al

LB1585.3 .N38 2012

The Fall of the Faculty: The Rise of the All-Administrative University and Why It Matters

Ginsberg, Benjamin

LB2341 .G496 2013

Teaching Models: Designing Instruction for 21st Century Learners

Milman, Natalie B. et al

LB2806.15 .K54 2014

Fractals in Science

Bunde, Armin, et al

Q160.2 .F73 1994

Visual Strategies: A Practical Guide to Graphics for Scientists and Engineers

Frankel, Felice et al

Q223 .F73 2012

A Walk Through Combinatorics: An Introduction to Enumeration and Graph Theory

Bona, Miklos

QA164 .B66 2011

Principles and Techniques in Combinatorics

Chuan-Chong, Chen et al

QA164 .C54 1992

Counting

Koh, Khee Meng et al

QA164 .K63 2013

A History of Mathematics

Boyer, Carl B. et al

QA21 .B767 2011

Commutative Algebra: with a View Toward Algebraic Geometry

Eisenbud, David

QA251.3 .E38 2004

Commutative Ring Theory

Matsumura, H. et al

QA251.3 .M37213 1989

A Computable Universe: Understanding and Exploring Nature as Computation

Zenil, Hector

QA267.7 .C6455 2013

Advances and Challenges in Space-time Modelling of Natural Events

Porcu, Emilio et al (eds)

QA276 .A384 2012

Categorical Data Analysis

Agresti, Alan

QA278 .A353 2013

Multivariate Methods of Representing Relations in R for Prioritization Purposes

Myers, Wayne L. et al

QA278 .M94 2012

The Historical Development of the Calculus

Edwards, C.H.

QA303 .E224 1979

Mathematical Thinking: Problem-Solving and Proofs

D-Angelo, John P. et al

QA39.2 .D25 2000

Making Mathematics Practical: An Approach to Problem Solving

Toh, Tin Lam et al

QA63 .M35 2011

Turing's Cathedral: The Origins of the Digital Universe

Dyson, George

QA76.17 .D97 2012

From Counterculture to Cyberculture: Stewart Brand, the Whole Earth Network, and the Rise of Digital Utopianism

Turner, Fred

QA76.9.C66 T875 2006

The Chemical Cosmos: A Guided Tour

Miller, Steve

QB450 .M55 2012

Time Reborn: From the Crisis in Physics to the Future of the Universe

Smolin, Lee

QB991.Q36 S66 2013

Simple Brownian Diffusion: An Introduction to the Standard Theoretical Models

Gillespie, Daniel Thomas et al

QC184 .G55 2013

The Avalanche Handbook

The Mountaineers Books

QC929.A8 M39 2006

Napoleon's Buttons: How 17 Molecules Changed History

LeCouteur, Penny

QD37 .L34 2004

Current Protocols Select: Methods and Applications in Microscopy and Imaging

Watkins, Simon, et al

QH205.2 .C864 2013

Life's Ratchet: How Molecular Machines Extract Order from Chaos

Hoffmann, Peter M.

QH506 .H636 2012

Against Their Will: The Secret History of Medical Experimentation on Children in Cold War America

Hornblum, Allen M. et al

RJ85 .H67 2013

Computer Graphics: Principles and Practice

Hughes, John F. et al

T385 .C5735 2014

 

Web Sites of Interest

Understanding Science: Teaching Resources
http://undsci.berkeley.edu/teaching/index.php

The world of science is diverse and fascinating, but traditional methods of teaching sometimes don't do it justice. This site from the University of California helps teachers help their students become fascinated by the process of scientific discovery. The site contains several "teachers' lounges" where educators can share information, resources, and also learn about new pedagogical developments and innovations. Visitors shouldn't miss the Guide to Understanding Science 101, which includes answers to questions like What is science? and so on. Moving on, the site also contains other areas, including Correcting Misconceptions, Teaching Tools, and Conceptual Framework, which helps educators identify age-appropriate learning goals. [KMG]

Amazing Space: Visions of the Universe
http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/visions/

What have we learned about the universe over the past four centuries? Visions of the Universe asks just that, looking deep into the past to bring a bit of this history to the general public. On the site, visitors can make their way through twelve exhibits, including Storms on the Sun and Journey To Mars. Each section features a detailed poster for classroom use, along with other activities and resources to assist with further online exploration. The accompanying For Educators and Developers tab also features additional teaching tools, astronomy basics, and a look at What's New? in Amazing Space. While here, visitors should make sure to check out Tactile Astronomy, an incredible collection of Hubble images that can be downloaded and printed in a tactile format. [KMG]

Physics to Go
http://www.compadre.org/informal/

The Physics to Go site invites the casual visitor to "explore physics on your own." Providing an assortment of great resources, it does just that. The site functions as a monthly mini-magazine and offers a collection of more than 1000 websites, physics images, and activities. A well-designed site, Physics to Go is divided into sections including Physics in Your World, From Physics Research, and Worth a Look. This last section is a fun place to start, as it offers up a realm of brief profiles such as "Johannes Kepler: The Laws of Planetary Motion" and "The Brightest Supernova Ever." If intrigued by these first two, visitors will love the dozens of additional profiles featured here. Additionally, the From Physics Research area contains profiles of current physics research, copiously illustrated, along with links to original research and commentary. If so desired, users can search the entire archive dating back to 004. [KMG]ans," "Access to Data," and "Hunting/Fishing." [KMG]

From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2012. https://www.scout.wisc.edu/ 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip