This is the "Summer 2013" page of the "Zoology Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Zoology Newsletter   Tags: newsletter, zoology  

Library newsletter for the Zoology department.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.weber.edu/zoonews Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Summer 2013 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News Bites

For this newsletter, I thought I would highlight some of the library's databases.  You can access the following by going to the library's website (library.weber.edu), clicking on Article Databases, selecting the first letter of the database of interest, and clicking on the database title.

Science, Technology, and Society 
Science, Technology, and Society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. It emphasizes an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography.

Scitation 
Scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.

Encyclopedia of Underwarter Life 
A breathtaking insight into underwater life, this Encyclopedia offers unrivalled coverage of the fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit our rivers, lakes, and oceans. It describes in detail the anatomy, behaviour, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of species: from microscopic, single-celled organisms swept along by water currents to gigantic powerhouses of the deep. Fascinating feature articles examine some of the strangest and most interesting aspects of these species in more depth, such as the origins of coral reefs; the cycle of the salmon; and how fish produce and use artificial illumination

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Title

Author

Call Number

What Makes Us Human?

DVD

BD450 .H86 2012 (media)

The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?

Diamond, Jared

DU744.35.D32 D53 2012

Trinkets and Beads

DVD

F3722.1.H83 T75 2000 (media)

Soundings: The Story of the Remarkable Woman Who Mapped the Ocean Floor

Felt, Hali

GA407.T43 F45 2012

But Will the Planet Notice?: How Smart Economics Can Save the World

Wagner, Gernot

GE170 .W34 2011

Nature Wars: The Incredible Story of How Wildlife Comebacks Turned Backyards into Battlegrounds

Sterba, Jim

GF503 .S74 2012

The Human Spark

DVD

GN281 .H86 2010 (media)

Wired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social Mind

Pagel, Mark

GN281 .P32 2012

Decoding Neanderthals

DVD

GN285 .D43 2013 (media)

What the Best College Students Do

Bain, Ken

LA229 .B24 2012

The Adult Learner: The definitive classic in adult education and human resource development

Knowles, et al

LC5225.L42 K56 2012

Science on American Television: A History

LaFollette, Marcel Chotkowski

PN1992.8.S33 L34 2013

Shakespeare's Tremor and Orwell's Cough: The Medical Lives of Famous Writers

Ross, John J.

PR106 .R59 2012

This is Improbable: Cheese String Theory, Magnetic Chickens and Other WTF Research

Abrahams, Marc

Q173 .A186 2012

Air: The Restless Shaper of the World

Logan, William Bryant

QC866 .L64 2012

Cambrian Explosion and the Construction of Animal Biodiversity

Ersin, Douglas et al

QE721.2.E85 D68 2013

Cuba: The Accidental Eden

DVD

QH109.C9 C833 2010 (media)

A Rapid Biological Assessment of the Kwamalasamutu region, Southwestern Suriname

O'Shea, Brian J. et al (eds)

QH125.6 .R37 2011

 

Selected New Books/DVDs

Tibet Wild: A Naturalist's Journeys on the Roof of the World

Schaller, George

QH181 .S35 2012

On a Farther Shore: The Life and Legacy of Rachel Carson

Souder, William

QH31.C33 S68 2012

Repetitive DNA

QH442 .R464 2012

Ghost in Your Genes

DVD

QH450 .G46 2008 (media)

A World in One Cubic Foot: Portraits of Biodiversity

Liittschwager, David et al

QH541.15.B56 L588 2012

The Economics of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services

Managi, Shunsuke (ed)

QH541.15.E267 E27 2013

Observation and Ecology: Broadening the Scope of Science to Understand a Complex World

Sagarin, Rafe et al

QH541.28 .S23 2012

Walking Sideways: The Remarkable World of Crabs

Weis, Judith S.

QL444.M33 W394 2012

Methods for Collecting, Preserving, and Studying Insects and Allied Forms

Upton, Marray S.

QL465 .U68 1991

Flies: The Natural History and Diversity of Diptera

Marshall, Stephen

QL531 .M37 2012

A Field Guide to the Ants of New England

Ellison, Aaron M. et al

QL568.F7 F37 2012

Reptile Biodiversity: Standard Methods for Inventory and Monitoring

McDiarmid, Roy W. et al (eds)

QL645.6 .R47 2012

Dinosaur Feather Mystery

DVD

QL677.3 .F466 2012 (media)

The Dodo and the Solitaire: A Natural History

Parish, Jolyon C.

QL696.C67 P37 2013

Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird

Birkhead, Tim

QL698 .B57 2012

Gray Wolves and the Endangered Species Act

Ewing, Chase et al

QL737.C22 E95 2012

A Life Among Whales

DVD

QL737.C4 L54 2009 (media)

Cracking the Koala Code

DVD

QL737.M384 C733 2012 (media)

Chasing Doctor Dolittle: Learning the Language of Animals

Slobodchikoff, Con

QL776 .S596 2012

Bad Pharma: How Drug Companies Mislead Doctors and Harm Patients

Goldacre, Ben

RM301.27 .G65 2013

A Ditch in Time: The City, the West and Water

Limerick, Patricia Nelson

TC425.C6 L56 2012

Dam Nation: How Water Shaped the West and Will Determine Its Future

Grace, Stephen

TD223.6 .G73 2012

Watershed: Exploring a New Water Ethic for the New West

DVD

TD345 .W388 2012 (media)

Project Plowshare: The Peaceful Use of Nuclear Explosives in Cold War America

Kaufman, Scott

TK9153 .K38 2013

Mass Destruction the Men and Giant Mines That Wired America and Scarred the Planet

LeCain, Timothy

TN443.A5 L43 2009

 

Web Sites of Interest

Teacher to Teacher: Critical Thinking in the College Classroom
http://www.utexas.edu/academic/ctl/criticalthinking/accessible.php?section=1

How do educators teach critical thinking to college students? It's an important task, and one that can be done creatively and in a fashion that speaks to a wide range of learners. This website created by the University of Texas at Austin's Teacher to Teacher initiative compiles fourteen modules: ten focused on specific critical thinking skills and four on specific teaching methods. The Explore tab can be used to look around the modules as organized by class size, type of module, or location (such as in class or out of class) Each module contains a definition and exploration, an annotated bibliography, real classroom footage from the University of Texas, and reflective commentaries from teachers. The modules are divided into four sections dedicated to critical thinking and metacognition. [KMG]

Insects
http://www.insects.org/

The tagline of this website is "Studying Earth's Most Diverse Organisms." Anyone interested in entomology will find the images, descriptions, and activities here to be most edifying. Visitors can click on Class: Insecta for classroom activities that profile butterfly and moth wing patterns, and a delightful collection of insects as they appear on stamps from countries all over the world. The Entophiles area features over 150 images of insect macrophotography combined with detailed descriptions. The Ants, Bees & Wasps area is remarkable; visitors shouldn't miss the thread-waisted wasp or the formicid ants. The site also contains select issues of the Cultural Entomology digest, which includes articles like "The Insects of M.C. Escher" and "Butterflies of Ancient Mexico." [KMG]

Spongelab: Build-A-Body
http://www.spongelab.com/game_pages/bab.cfm

Are you curious about how the human body works? If so, the Build-A-Body site may pique your interest in the world of the body's organ systems.  The site features a drag and drop game where players are tasked with assembling an organ system and making their way through the nervous,  skeletal,excretory, and reproductive systems. The site also contains a set of case studies about the various conditions that each system may encounter overthe lifespan. The site is a fine tool for teaching basic concepts of human physiology and anatomy. [KMG] Note: free, but requires registration.

From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2013. https://www.scout.wisc.edu/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JaNae Kinikin
Contact Info
Library, Room 148 (middle level)
801-626-6093
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip